New Jersey is stiffening the penalties for motorists who use handheld devices while driving. A bill signed into law on Thursday, June 27, increases the fine to a minimum of $200 and a maximum of $400 for a first offense. A second offense would be a minimum fine of $400 and a maximum of $600. A third offense or subsequent offenses carry a minimum of $600 and a maximum of $800.
Under the bill, Judges can also suspend a drivers license for 90 days for anyone convicted of third or subsequent offenses and impose 3 motor vehicle points on their license.
New Jersey is among 9 states and the District of Columbia that have banned the use handheld cell phones while driving. It is also one of 35 states that have banned texting-while-driving.
Get The Hard Facts:
Texting-while-driving is the same as driving after having 4 beers.
At any given moment in the day, 660,000 drivers in the U.S. are using their cell phones or another electronic device while driving.
Sending or receiving a text takes a driver’s eyes off the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, which is equivalent – at 55mph – to driving the length of an entire football field, blind.
Texting and driving can be fatal and is not worth the potential consequences. If you would like us to speak at your child’s school as a part of our “Don’t Text and Drive for Schools” program, please visit https://www.jmlawyer.com/community-relations
Contact us 24/7 for a free case appraisal and fill out our free evaluation form.
Read the news story here: http://www.myfoxny.com/story/22703122/nj-law-toughens-penalties-for-texting-talking